Annual Awards Ceremony


The 2021-2022 SMHA Annual Awards Ceremony will begin at 12:00pm (and run throughout the day) on Sunday, April 24, 2022 at the Sackville Arena Mezzanine. Stay tuned for details. It will be streamed online, and the details are still being worked out re: scheduling and attendance. In addition to an address on behalf of the SMHA Executive and the Major Awards, we anticipate a 10-minute time block for each team to present the team-level awards.

For more information, please email Sarah Bowes at or

Team Awards

Coaches and Bench Staff for each team in the U11, U13, U15, and U18 Divisions will select recipients for the following awards:

  • Most Improved Player - a player who dedicated themselves to working hard to become the best player they can be
  • Most Sportsmanlike Player - a player who consistently respected their peers, competitors, coaches and officials
  • Heart & Hustle - a player who demonstrated passion for the game of Hockey and best embodies the values, spirit and traditions of the game.
  • Most Valuable Player - a player who has significantly contributed to his or her team's success
  • "Peeks Performer" - The Andrew Picot Teammate of the Year - a player who brings an inspiring work ethic and a team focus to their play 

Major Awards

SMHA present four Major Awards annually:
  • The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award
  • The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award
  • The Gord Dwyer Award for Officials
  • The Volunteer of the Year Award

The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award

A Player who exemplifies strong leadership skills, high academic achievement and outstanding athletic ability.

The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 - Adam Woodman
  • 2018-2019 - Matt Hayes
  • 2017-2018 - Ethan Hiscott
  • 2016-2017 - Ryan Guzzwell
  • 2015-2016 - Connor Wolfe
  • 2014-2015 - Matt MacKay
  • 2013-2014 - Ryan Prosser
  • 2012-2013 - Connor Theriault
  • 2011-2012 - Cody Lawson
  • 2010-2011 - Matthew Stymest
  • 2009-2010 - Jacob Fancy
  • 2008-2009 - Jonny Horsman

The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award

This prestigious award was introduced in 2011 and is open to all Coaches of Sackville Minor Hockey who have coached for a minimum of five years.

Bernie Bishop was a longtime valued member of our association. He was a past member of the SMHA Executive, a Coach, a Mentor Coach, and a Development Coach. He stepped in anywhere he was asked. His last several years with the Association were spent in the U15 competitive program, coaching and mentoring our SMHA players. Bernie spent countless hours at the rink watching, planning, coaching, teaching or giving advice not only to our players but to the coaches and our SMHA Executive. He was a caring and loving person, and he will always be remembered. Bernie's contribution will continue to be recognized within Sackville Minor Hockey Associaiton as we honour his memory with this "Coach of the Year Award".

The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 - Andy Conrad
  • 2019-2020 - Mike Burns
  • 2018-2019 - Joe Gray
  • 2017-2018 - Brian Irwin
  • 2016-2017 - Dan MacDonald
  • 2015-2016 - Shawn Hiscott
  • 2014-2015 - Paul Shaw
  • 2013-2014 - Scott Oakley
  • 2012-2013 - Shawn Pottie
  • 2011-2012 - Brendan Meagher

The Gord Dwyer Award

Presented to the official who best demonstrates dedication, perserverance, and professionalism within Sackville Minor Hockey

The Gord Dwyer Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 -
  • 2018-2019 - Brian Collins
  • 2017-2018 - Ben Thomander
  • 2016-2017 - Hunter Rose
  • 2015-2016 - Brayden MacDougall
  • 2014-2015 - Calen Hunter

The Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to the an exemplary volunteer within Sackville Minor Hockey Association.


The Volunteer of the Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 -