Year-End Awards Banquet


The 2022-2023 Year-End Awards Banquet is for the U11, U13, & U15 Divisions. 

Teams from all other divisions are encouraged to do their own team-level year-end celebration. 

For more information or to get involved, please email Melissa Price at


Year-End Awards Banquet Details

When: Easter Monday, April 10th, 2023
Where: Springfield Lake Community Centre (266 Lakeview Ave, Middle Sackville)


There are three banquets, one after the other, to be able to accommodate all teams.

  • U11 Division: 11:00am - 1:00pm, Monday, April 10th, 2023 
  • U13 Division: 2:30pm - 4:30pm, Monday, April 10th, 2023 
  • U15 Division: 6:00pm - 8:00pm, Monday, April 10th, 2023 


Due to capacity restrictions, the Banquet is limited to the players, Team Manager, Head Coach(es) and Assistant Coaches only. Family members cannot attend the banquet as attendees.

We do welcome volunteers for one of our many day-of volunteer roles to help pull off the event. In particular, we will need helpers for each division, as well as Set-Up late in the evening on Sunday, April 9th and/or early on Monday April 10th, and a Clean-Up Crew staritng at 8:00pm on Monday, April 10th when the celebration is complete.

Year-End Awards Banquet - Volunteer Sign-Up Form

Team Awards

Coaches and Bench Staff for each team in the U11, U13, U15, and U18 Divisions will select recipients for the following awards:

SMHA strongly suggests that teams adopt a fair selection process.
Teams should ensure that *all* players and positions be considered, with no more than one Team Award per player.  
We have heard of teams in prior years adopting the following selection process:
  • All coaches independently recommend two players for each award listed below to the team's Head Coach & Manager
  • The team's Head Coach & Manager use those recommendations to make a final selection
  • In addition, we strongly encourage that the teammates themselves be involved in the selection for the "Peeks Performer" Teammate of the Year award
The five Team Awards are as follows:
  • Most Improved Player
    A player who dedicated themselves to working hard to become the best player they can be

  • Most Sportsmanlike Player 
    A player who consistently respected their peers, competitors, coaches and officials

  • Heart & Hustle 
    A player who demonstrated passion for the game of Hockey and best embodies the values, spirit and traditions of the game.

  • Most Valuable Player 
    A player who has significantly contributed to his or her team's success

  • "Peeks Performer"
    The Andrew Picot Teammate of the Year - a player who brings an inspiring work ethic and a team focus to their play 


Major Awards

SMHA presents four Major Awards annually:
  • The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award
  • The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award
  • The Gord Dwyer Award for Officials
  • The Volunteer of the Year Award


The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award

A Player who exemplifies strong leadership skills, high academic achievement and outstanding athletic ability.

The James Sheppard Flyer-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 - Adam Woodman
  • 2018-2019 - Matt Hayes
  • 2017-2018 - Ethan Hiscott
  • 2016-2017 - Ryan Guzzwell
  • 2015-2016 - Connor Wolfe
  • 2014-2015 - Matt MacKay
  • 2013-2014 - Ryan Prosser
  • 2012-2013 - Connor Theriault
  • 2011-2012 - Cody Lawson
  • 2010-2011 - Matthew Stymest
  • 2009-2010 - Jacob Fancy
  • 2008-2009 - Jonny Horsman


The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award

This prestigious award was introduced in 2011 and is open to all Coaches of Sackville Minor Hockey who have coached for a minimum of five years.

Bernie Bishop was a longtime valued member of our association. He was a past member of the SMHA Executive, a Coach, a Mentor Coach, and a Development Coach. He stepped in anywhere he was asked. His last several years with the Association were spent in the U15 competitive program, coaching and mentoring our SMHA players. Bernie spent countless hours at the rink watching, planning, coaching, teaching or giving advice not only to our players but to the coaches and our SMHA Executive. He was a caring and loving person, and he will always be remembered. Bernie's contribution will continue to be recognized within Sackville Minor Hockey Associaiton as we honour his memory with this "Coach of the Year Award".

The Bernie Bishop Coach-of-the-Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2021-2022 -
  • 2020-2021 - Andy Conrad
  • 2019-2020 - Mike Burns
  • 2018-2019 - Joe Gray
  • 2017-2018 - Brian Irwin
  • 2016-2017 - Dan MacDonald
  • 2015-2016 - Shawn Hiscott
  • 2014-2015 - Paul Shaw
  • 2013-2014 - Scott Oakley
  • 2012-2013 - Shawn Pottie
  • 2011-2012 - Brendan Meagher


The Gord Dwyer Award

Presented to the official who best demonstrates dedication, perserverance, and professionalism within Sackville Minor Hockey

The Gord Dwyer Award - Past Recipients

  • 2021-2022 -
  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 -
  • 2018-2019 - Brian Collins
  • 2017-2018 - Ben Thomander
  • 2016-2017 - Hunter Rose
  • 2015-2016 - Brayden MacDougall
  • 2014-2015 - Calen Hunter


The Kim Gray Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to the an exemplary volunteer within Sackville Minor Hockey Association.


The Volunteer of the Year Award - Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021 -
  • 2019-2020 -